Jeremiah Trotter Jr. Named as Semifinalist for the Chuck Bednarik Award

Maxwell Football Club Executive Director, Mark Wolpert, announced the 2023 semifinalists for the 87th Maxwell Award for the Collegiate Player of the Year and the 29th Chuck Bednarik Award for the Outstanding Defensive Player of the Year. The lists include a field of 17 candidates for the Maxwell Award and 20 candidates for the Bednarik Award as selected by the Maxwell Football Club National Selection Committee.The Maxwell Football Club has once again partnered with Pro Football Focus (PFF) and Phil Steele Publications as selection committee partners. PFF provides detailed statistical and performance-based assessments to selection committee staff, and several senior PFF analysts have been added to the selection committee and have participated in the process. Phil Steele’s College Football Preview is generally recognized as the most complete football reference in the country.  A strong field of Maxwell Award semifinalists includes representatives from 6 conferences, with the SEC boasting 6 candidates each and the Big Ten and Big 12 notching 3 spots each. Caleb Williams (USC), the 2022 Maxwell Award winner leads this class of candidates which features 11 quarterbacks, 3 wide receivers, 2 running backs and 1 tight end. On the defensive side of the ball, the field of contenders is comprised of fresh faces. Seven different conferences and 1 independent are represented, led by 4 student-athletes each from the Big Ten and SEC and 3 each from the Big 12 and ACC.  Last season, the Maxwell Award was presented to USC quarterback Caleb Williams and the Bednarik Award went to Alabama linebacker Will Anderson Jr. Anderson was selected with the No. 3 overall pick in this year’s NFL draft by the Houston Texans and Williams is completing his junior season for the Trojans. Semifinalist voting for both of the collegiate awards presented by the Maxwell Football Club will begin on Wednesday Nov. 14 and will close on Nov. 26. Three finalists for each award will be announced on Nov. 28 and a finalist round of voting will take place at that time. Eligible voters include Maxwell Football Club members, NCAA head football coaches, sports information directors and selected national media. All semifinalists are listed in alphabetical order by school with the player’s school, position and class designated. The winners of the 87th Maxwell Award and the 29th Chuck Bednarik Award will be announced as part of the ESPN Home Depot College Football Awards Show which will be broadcast live on ESPN on Friday December 8, 2023. The formal presentation of the Maxwell and Chuck Bednarik Awards will take place at the 87th Maxwell Awards Gala which will be held on Friday March 8, 2024.  Questions regarding the Maxwell and Bednarik semifinalist lists can be directed to:Mark Wolpert – or Rich Cirminiello –

2023 Maxwell Award Semifinalists



2023 Chuck Bednarik Award Semifinalists




ABOUT THE MAXWELL FOOTBALL CLUB – The Maxwell Football Club was founded in 1935 and is the oldest football organization of its kind in America. The Club recognizes excellence in performance at the high school, collegiate and professional levels of the game. The Maxwell Club is also deeply involved and fully vested in the community through programs to promote academic excellence, community volunteerism, and leadership. High school student-athletes around the country have an opportunity to participate in MFC Showcase events, free of charge, through the generosity of our corporate partners, Montage Mountain Resort, Ivy Rehab, The Buccini Pollin Group, the Edward T. Coombs Foundation and the Run Around Inc. To learn more about our story visit

Notify of

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments